Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Car Got QUIETER After Headers?

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2005, 06:54 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Car Got QUIETER After Headers?

Alright, here's the situation. I have a 99 WS-6. I recently put LT Pacesetters on it. I ran the car open engine for about 2 weeks (BTW, best sound i've ever heard). I had to get the Y-pipe put on and hook everything back up to the muff. So we took it to Advanced Muffler and they welded the Y-pipe together and clamped it on to the rest of the exhaust. I have a Flowmaster 40 series muff (sux, i know, shut up). I start the car up after all is said and done and i am COMPLETELY overwhelmed by how quiet it is. I mean, it is unbelievably quiter than even when i had my cats and stock shorties on. I was like "Well, maybe thats just the idle". So i ran it.......... It's almost like it doesn't even HAVE a tone. It has a real "airy" noise to it and it never really "makes noise" like it use to. It sounds like what a stock SS or WS-6 sounds like with the stock muffler and all. It sounds horrible. Last time i checked, bolting on LTs and taking off the headers not only created a more free flowing system, but also increases sound volume. I have NO idea what's going on with the car right now. Heck, for all i know someone could have left a freakin' rag in the Y-pipe and it's restricting flow.

I also noticed a bit of "lag", if you will. When i hit it, it doesn't accelerate like it used to. It's like it's dishing out the fuel and all but the speedometer isn't moving as fast as it did with the open header. I realize that it WON'T run as fast. Nothing is more free flowing than basically open engine, i realize that. But it's like i felt a power loss. I have no idea what's up with my car right now. Anyone have any ideas of how i can find out? Or what i need to replace if anything?
Old 09-27-2005, 06:59 PM