Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Water Pump and GREEN Coolant

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2007, 09:52 PM
Tech Resident

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default New Water Pump and GREEN Coolant

well, i finally took the plunge.

i flushed my coolant out a few months ago (in the summertime). i assume my car had original coolant in it, so at the MOST it was 5 years old w/30,000 miles on it. for dexcool, that's less than the recommended change interval. like clockwork, a few miles later, the water pump starts leaking. yay dexcool! a waterpump should last 100,000 miles, but thanks to dexcool i get a generous 30k out of it there's nothing wrong with dexcool, right?

so i've been limping it around for about 3 months and a few thousand miles. it's been a very slow leak, and i've been getting a squeak at startup, but it would go away as soon as my car would warm up and i'd drive a block. two days ago the squeak got really bad and is there ALL THE TIME. i finally took the plunge. i went to napa and dropped $160 on a new water pump. i wanted to get a GM OEM pump, but they're $200 shipped at gmpartsdirect.com and they have NO RETURN POLICY OR CANCELLATION on them because they're a special order, so screw them. with my luck i'd get a dud. also, they're $315 from the stealership, so nuts to that also. since napa's the only autoparts store that has good hard parts IMO, i went with them. i get the return policy and the warranty, plus there's 2 locations 10 mins from my house.

i dropped it off at the shop today, and i'm also getting the serpentine and A/C belts replaced at the same time. may as well, right? (yes, i took it to a shop. i have class every day this week and i'm borrowing my dad's truck since he has a car, too, and i don't have the time to screw around with my daily driver car).