Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help...blown head gaskets?

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2009, 04:18 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help...blown head gaskets?

Well in about September, the Camaro started spitting a noticeable amount of white smoke out the tailpipes, both of them. No X or H, the exhaust never crosses over. I've also noticed it is leaking what seems to be water, but could be Dextron, out of one of the mufflers, where it meets the rest of the exhaust piping. It's been enough to leave 3"x3" stains in the concrete.

Well I pulled the intake and throttle body off, and everything seems to be fine - a little oily in the intake, but no worries(I guess?). Should this much build-up be normal in the intake ports on a 42,000 mile car?

Pulled the spark plugs today, and I think they look fine???:

In those pics, cylinders go:
Passenger's front cylinder..........passenger rear cylinder
Driver's front...............driver rear
I'm new to motor diagnostics, so...help?

The car has a 160 TStat in it, and I have NEVER seen it get over 190. Could both of the headgaskets popped at the same time? I don't want to pull my heads if I don't have to - head studs aren't cheap. The motor is a 98 LS1, stock.

Thanks for the help,
-Adam
Old 01-10-2009, 04:46 PM
TECH Addict

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

I just pulled a set of plugs out of my engine that looked liek that and my engine was missing horribly because of them and i have no idea why. I installed new plugs no more misfiring.

Exhaust naturally builds up moisture it could be leaking on one side just because its clamp leaks thats all. Is it down on power at all? Have you tried a compression test yet? What type of pcv system are you running? Any catch can?
Old 01-10-2009, 04:50 PM
10 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

you low on antifreeze?
Old 01-10-2009, 05:33 PM
Staging Lane