Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2003 HUMMER H2 LQ4--L92 Head swap???

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2009, 02:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2003 HUMMER H2 LQ4--L92 Head swap???

Okay I am new to doing engine upgrades to my H2. I have read bits and pieces on doing a L92 Head swap to my Lq4. And It very much interests me. Ideally I would like to be able to do this swap without getting too carried away. I would like to keep it so that when you drive the truck the only thing that is different is the amount of power. Meaning I would like to keep my fuel injection system and not have any lights going off on the dash etc.... So I have a few ????? before I dive into this.

1.) Can I do this swap and use my current fuel injection system?
2.) When doing this swap do I need a new intake manifold?-- I have read about guys switching to the LS intake then having to change the water pump etc... I am not too excited about doing that
3.) Will I need a different cam?? I have read that if you use the factory cam you need to have reliefs milled into the pistons?? I really do not want to machine the piston heads
4.) If I need to get a different cam to avoin machining pistons, what cam should I look into for more low end torque/power??
5.) Will I need to do anything with the ECM to adjust for these new heads?
6.)What other electronics will I need to change with the new heads??

What I am really looking for here is more "on road" power. After going through a slew off road upgrades the truck is heavier, and taller and well..... Okay it was like driving a shed down the highway stock, now its like driving a full blown pole barn down the highway. Its constantly hunting for gears and lacks passing power, especially when towing my boat. So any help would be great!

Thanks,
Eric
Old 10-30-2009, 04:48 PM
11 Second Club

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

1.) Can I do this swap and use my current fuel injection system? not the injectors