Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What to do first?

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2011, 10:58 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What to do first?

I am new to the LS scene, and want to know what are the first few things I can do to improve the performance of the car. I have a limited budget so, where do I start tweaking?
Old 10-24-2011, 11:08 AM
Launching!

You can start by searching. You can read for days on this site. Tons of extremely knowledgeable folks on here. Post up and let us know what you decide.
Old 10-24-2011, 11:19 AM
TECH Addict

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

^^start @ New LS1 owners-stickies.
Then throw us a budget amount and you'll get enough imput to spin your head right off you neck.
Old 10-24-2011, 11:33 AM
11 Second Club

Received 22 Likes on 17 Posts

And as a rule of thumb when asking, it is best to include the car, year model, and what is already done because those impact decisions a lot.

If it's an automatic, a higher stall torque converter should be a priority. If it's a pre-01, a ls6 intake would also be up there.
Old 10-24-2011, 11:39 AM
Teching In

Thanks for the quick replies. The car is an 02 TA auto, that is bone stock. Air box and exhaust are first in line.
Old 10-24-2011, 11:49 AM
11 Second Club

Lid
headers/exhaust
stall
sticky tire (555r would be good)
tune

Would make for a very healthy ride. If short on funds, I would pool all the money into a quality 3600 converter (even a good used Yank, Circle D, Vig, etc) and put better tires on after the current ones are burnt to a crisp from the new awesomeness.
Old 10-24-2011, 11:54 AM
TECH Addict

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

Smile

Originally Posted by lo mile ta
Thanks for the quick replies. The car is an 02 TA auto, that is bone stock. Air box and exhaust are first in line.
Good start...didn't mean to come off as a smart a$$ earlier.