Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anything else needed for cam/head swap

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2013, 07:18 PM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Anything else needed for cam/head swap

im planning on getting 243 heads, custom cam, new pushrods, lifters, springs,double roller timing set and slp oil pump, but im not sure if i need new rockers or just reuse the stock ones. and is there anything special that i would need to get or do to run the 243s, Im new to cam and head stuff so any info would be appreciated
Old 01-02-2013, 07:25 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Head bolts, gaskets, trunion upgrade for the factory rockers.
Old 01-02-2013, 07:51 PM
12 Second Club

which head gaskets the mls ones and what would be a good recommended spring set
Old 01-02-2013, 08:05 PM
TECH Senior Member

Brian tooley springs for $219
Head gasket is cr dependant
Old 01-02-2013, 09:05 PM
10 Second Club

Head gaskets are PTV dependant; then your "wanted" CR comes into play. Not trying to one up Tainted, but thats how you should look at it.

Which 243 heads are you trying to go with? Are you planning on CNC, Milled, etc

I would have Martin @ Tick Performance spec you a cam. He's very knowledgable.

What intake setup do you have now?

LS7 lifters are a nice upgrade. JP double roller with the torrington bearing, SLP oil pump like you mentioned. Measure for push rod length. Maybe some injectors.

Front timing cover seal. Front cover gasket. Speacial Kent Moore tool to take of the lower crank sprocket and the tool to install one. A 3 arm puller for the balancer. Torque wrench. Exhaust gasket. Head bolts. Water pump gaskets. And quite a few more odd and end things...

Follow the LS1HowTo.com writeup. It comes in handy.

A few of the reccomendations that your asking for will require more information from you. I.E. Budget, Power goals, and so forth....

Good Luck with your build. There is plenty of knowledge to be had from these guys.