Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cam question

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2013, 06:00 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cam question

Alright, so I have a stock (except for SLP Lid) 00 TA M6, I'm close to moving ahead w/ doing TSP 1 7/8 headers w/ ORY and an LS6 intake. I have a flowmaster catback that I plan on keeping. I know it doesn't flow as well as a magnaflow etc, but I like the sound and I am not concerned w/ leaving 5 HP on the table.

While doing some research and speaking w/ my brother (who's an LS1 junkie) we started talking about smaller cams that won't affect driving too much (my 3 year old son loves to go for rides so while it's not a DD, it gets more than weekend use). I started off looking at hot cams, but I really like what I've read about the TSP 224R 112, so that is going to be my cam if I chose to go w/ it.

Questions.... I know a lot of people do heads/cam at the same time, I am not planning to do heads, I want to do cam only. How much will installing a new cam affect the engines reliability? If it's going to put undo stress on it and make it more likely to break down, I'm going to hold off. I know anytime you start tearing down the engine it has a higher likely hood to break, but is it significant?

Is this a somewhat "safe" mod? And is doing cam only a bad idea? And out of curiosity, how much HP will a cam leave on the table w/ the flowmaster?

Thanks for help
Old 06-18-2013, 08:25 PM
On The Tree

Someone want to throw the new guy a bone here? Any info would help.
Old 06-18-2013, 09:04 PM
Staging Lane

it seems to me that you are on the right track with the 224 or the hot cam , i run the 228r and for still being a mild cam it still has a little bucking at low speeds that doesnt bother me but i could ve gone bigger and dealt with the bucking from what i found it looks like those two cams perform awesome with stock like manners good luck!
Old 06-18-2013, 09:22 PM
TECH Addict

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts