Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My new ride - wants to stall

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2013, 01:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My new ride - wants to stall

I just bought a 6 spd '02 Z28 Convertible. It's my first sports car in almost 10 years - other than that - I've been driving lifted trucks or crotchrockets.

I'm a 4 generation mechanic and have been turning wrenches on and off for ~15 years - mostly building mudders - so I'm familiar with mechanics - just not this car.

It appears there has been some work done to this Z!! I don't know anything about Camaro's or the LS1 motor - but it seems (at the very least) to have aftermarket headers / exhaust system.

I don't know if the motor is an LS1 with LS6 heads and intake - or if it's an LS6 motor - I've been reading the forums - but the difference still eludes me. The heads are marked 243, the intake is 12573572 - but can't find the block number.

There is a rather large black hose running up the drivers side engine compartment that is disconnected and left open at both ends (by firewall and by breather) - any clue what this is for or why it's just hanging out? Probably something to do with EGR.

The EGR Ports on the headers have been blocked off as well ...

The car runs like a top when I'm on the gas. At idle its different - it has a real hard lobe - the car shakes / vibrates when on low idle - it feels like a friggen huge cam more than a low end miss.

My problem is, when I pull off the gas (stop sign / just coasting) the motor damn near stalls - it has yet to actually die - but it gets uncomfortably close - maybe a couple hundred rpm - then jumps up back up to low idle and just purrs waiting to go.

Any info you guys provide would be great!!
Attached Thumbnails My new ride - wants to stall-2013-08-30-12.20.03.jpg  

Last edited by Zipper; 08-30-2013 at 01:06 PM. Reason: add photo
Old 08-30-2013, 03:19 PM
On The Tree

Deff a ls6 top end