Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anyone have proof that a long stroke makes torque?

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2014, 03:49 PM
On The Tree

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Anyone have proof that a long stroke makes torque?

I'm a scientist by profession. My 2004 Chevy with a 5.3L has started burning oil and blowing blue smoke when it's cold. I don't want to buy a new truck and I've always preferred engines that I've built over factory engines anyway so I am going to build a new engine for the truck.

Goals:
  • More torque
  • Reliability
  • Towing capacity
  • Fuel economy
  • Acceleration

I'm planning to use a LSX454 iron block with a 4.125-4.200 bore. The 4.8L crankshaft with 3.26 stroke would put me over my desired displacement of roughly 5.7L. Some older, maybe more experienced builders believe over-all displacement, no matter how it is achieved is key to producing torque. The more common claim is that torque is achieved through a longer stroke. In the 80s and 90s, it was the chevy 383 stroker vs the chevy 377. the 383s dominated because they were so easy and cheap to acquire but the few people I knew who had a 377 absolutely loved them.

So... Any links to articles where actual tests were done to answer the stroke vs. bore vs displacement question would be greatly appreciated. Additionally, if anyone has built a short stroke LSX block, I'd like to hear from them.

Thanks...
Old 01-16-2014, 04:47 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Just google piston speed vs. torque. By increasing stroke, at any given RPM the piston speed is increased, thereby creating more force being exerted on the crankshaft and voila, more torque. Pretty simple concept, but there are consequences such as increased side loading, higher stresses on parts at a given rpm, and will lower the theoretical max RPM potential...which can somewhat be negated by the use of higher quality parts.