Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What would you do in my situation?

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2014 | 07:51 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Default What would you do in my situation?

So my car has a knock after some burn outs a few months ago, its been sitting since then. I charged the battery and it was knocking pretty loud, I determined that the breakage was due to a low oil level + abuse. Stupid stupid stupid yes I know. You live and you definitely learn.

Pulled the valve cover and Checked the driver head and all was well, but never got around to checking passenger due to work. The only time i started it after the night it broke, it sounded like the knock was coming from the passenger side head. But it could've easily been coming from the bottom end as well.

Just towed it to a family friends shop and he's going to let me know what the damage is.

I have no experience with building/rebuilding motors, but if it's a spun rod bearing, what all would be involved with repairing that? New motor? Machine work? New crank? What about if it's a broken valve spring/rocker? I was thinking if its just a valvetrain issue, I'd just get a set of 243s off here and swap them, and get a nice 15-20 whp gain in the process. I'm trying to see what my options are here. Budget is a priority, I don't have the money for a new short block, I was thinking maybe an lq9/4 swap? Also time is important as this is my only car and I can only get rides to work for so long.

What would y'all do with budget and time being a main concern?
Old 02-10-2014 | 07:57 PM
TECH Senior Member

Well in my case I spun the #6 rod bearing and pretty much trashed eveything except the top end. So I got a 370 LQ9 from Thompson Motorsports, and reused my top end, but with a bigger cam. It really depends on the extent of the damage. Have you checked the oil for metal?
Old 02-10-2014 | 08:01 PM
On The Tree

Pull it and Rebuild it, Better, Stronger and Faster