Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cam/Valve Spring Recommendations for LS1 w/243 Heads

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2014, 01:53 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cam/Valve Spring Recommendations for LS1 w/243 Heads

I've done some searching and read the technical threads. I'm a Mechanical Engineer and I'm not afraid to say I don't understand most of it well enough to make this decision on my own.

The car is my DD. So I'm just looking to open her up, keeping a smooth ride/idle not drastically dropping my mpg, while still having enough torque to have improve throttle response on the street and enough horsepower gain to improve the top end. If this combination is possible.

I'm thinking the goal is 500 rwhp +- 25 rwhp. (If I'm not going to get the ride I want at that power, please let me know.)

My Setup
02 Trans Am WS6 w/LS1 mostly stock
Kook 1 7/8" Long Tube Headers withOUT Cats and Y Pipe
Voolant Cold Air Intake
Stock LS6 Intake - Emissions crap has been removed

I intend to upgrade to the Fast 92mm within the next year.

I just picked a set of low mileage 243s off of a vet w/ new LS2 Valves
I still need to get them to the machine shop to be looked over, cleaned, milled, and maybe a light hand port. Any advise on milling and porting would be appreciated! (I understand most benefits of porting are at high RPMs. That's about it.)

Obviously I intend to change the cam and add the springs when I change the heads.

I'll be installing new LS7 lifters during this and intend to upgrade my stock lifters with the comp cam trunion upgrade.

I called comp and asked for their advise. I appreciate the advise the guy gave, while it was probably great advise it seemed like he was reading off of a sales sheet and had no experience with LS Engines. Which is why I'm here, I'd really like some advice from you guys who play with LS engines and/or have ran my setup.

This is what he suggested.
extreme 269
54-414-11