Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

UK based LQ9 build advice please

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2015 | 07:21 AM
On The Tree

Default UK based LQ9 build advice please

I'm just starting out on building an LQ9 motor to drop into my 79/80 Camaro. Can't remember ever seeing another LQ in the UK, but there are a few LS motors knocking around. But very few indeed - you can count them on one hand even at big car shows.

I currently have a 425hp small block fitted - already running on MS3 ECU, 4L80E transmission and 3200rpm stall converter. 4.11 rear gears in a 12 bolt.

I picked up a heap of parts, but a lot of major components are missing. But I mainly wanted the heads and block anyway.

I've built a fair few motors in my time and made good power with them, but this is my first Gen III motor.

I'd really like to achieve at least 600hp at the crank, naturally aspirated. The car is only a weekend/fun car and will see a bit of track use as well. Having been reading around this seems like an achievable target? I'd rather not spray it if I can get away with it.

I've got a lot of planning to do and a few questions for those more knowledgeable than me with the LS/LQ motors. I'd rather build it right first time, so I'd like to just run a few things past you guys..

Here's what I have to start with:
Brand new LQ9 block - stock bore
New LQ9 pistons and stock rods (floating pins)
New 317 heads with valves and springs - plus 1 scrap head for some port testing.
Escalade sump - will be modifying this.
New water pump

I need to get everything else.

Bottom end
My intention for the bottom end was to source a stock crank, and fit ARP bolts to the stock rods, re-size the bores and fit oversize OD bearings. Use the stock LQ9 pistons and notch them for the valves if needed.

Would this bottom end be OK for a 7000 rpm limit?

Cam