Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LR4 Questions and Newbie

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2016, 12:31 PM
On The Tree

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question LR4 Questions and Newbie

I am a lurker on this board (and this is my first time posting), gathering information that will be used for a potential track car with an LS-swap. I am interested in doing a 4.8L LR4 build since complete engines can be had for less than the price of an IKEA sofa in my area. The motor would be swapped into a Porsche 944 for track duty on courses such as Thunderhill, Laguna Seca, and Sonoma Raceway. Texas Performance Concepts sells a conversion kit that even includes shorty headers for this swap, which is what I will likely be picking up to make this happen.

I have read articles that the LR4 is fairly durable, but does not have the torque a 5.3L does like the LM7. I do like the fact that the LR4 revs happily as we have one in a 2001 Silverado. This also makes me wonder if I can build this motor up to redline at 7000 RPM without breaking anything.

I'm not looking to do anything really crazy with this budget build, but would like to squeeze around 350-400HP at the crank out of it. I have been reading about cams, valve springs and heads that would assist in my goals, but really don't know what would be a good setup and an ideal pushrod length for any non-stock cam profiles.

As far as EFI goes, I am turning to Microsquirt for this.

My background is pretty much Porsche and Mercedes. The LS-swaps have hit many Porsche forums with some kick *** 944s out there pissing off the purists to high heaven. Somehow I think I am about to follow that same route. This is the perfect board to learn about these engines too.

Are there any recommendations for a budget 4.8L build to get me up to the HP numbers above and decent durability for track use?

Last edited by Uranium238; 03-03-2016 at 12:40 PM.
Old 03-04-2016, 07:02 PM
TECH Addict

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts