Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Build question:

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2016, 04:09 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Build question:

This may sound funny, but here goes. I am new to the LS series of engines aND most of my engine experience is with Fords. I however have a LQ4 engine that I bought to rebuild out of a 2003 Chevy van. It had 120,000 miles on it but is in very good condition. I am just going to clean it up ( hot tank) and refresh with all new bearings. I bought a LS series engine rebuilding guide book and it says when rebuilding a performance engine to not install the lifter trays.
It mentions not installing them for the cam degree process but it also says to not install with an aftermarket cam. Is there a reason for this as the book does not give an explanation why? I find it odd as I thought the tray helps keep the lifter aligned correctly. I am installing Texas Speed LQ9 heads that have been milled 0.030 with their 224 cam with .600/.600 lift and 112 LSA. They assured me that I would not have any valve to piston clearance issues. I am ordering parts and want to know if I need the lifter trays or not. I have Googled my question but have not found an answer.
I am a new member here but have been lurking and researching for about a year. This is where I got the head and cam package idea. Sorry for the long post but I figured I would give as much info as possible.
Old 05-23-2016, 04:40 PM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Upgrade to the LS2 trays and use ls7 lifters.

They tell you not to use the lifter trays because they want you to run different lifters that have the link bars on each pair (like the sbc solid roller lifters). This way they have no chance of spinning.
Old 05-23-2016, 06:57 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by zraffz
Upgrade to the LS2 trays and use ls7 lifters.