Sponsored by:

LM7 build

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2016, 01:01 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LM7 build

Hi, first post here.

I have a Avalanche Z71 03. I am a home-schooled back yard mechanic. I want to get some extra power from my LM7. I want both under and above the curve power. One day i'd may be like to go turbo but i think there is not enough space to fit one without redoing the front. I am on a small budget. I have no fear of doing all by myself.

What i'd like to start with is a mild cam and porting the heads. I don't want to go into software yet and i don't want to go carburator because that would be not stroke with my budget. I already have a huge exhaust, Flowmaster iirc. Now i have to decide on what cam to buy.

What heads does my LM7 have? I'd like to buy used ones and port them.
I live in a small country in South America where we have little to no professional tuners so i must rely on what i find on the web and do everything myself.
Thanks in advance for any help!
Old 06-21-2016, 05:53 AM
TECH Addict

Received 112 Likes on 89 Posts

Your heads are either 706 or 862 heads. Even if you do a small cam and port the heads you will need a tune to optimize your changes. Have the heads milled and go with a thinner head gasket to up compression. You could also put 4.8 pistons in to up compression(your 5.3 pistons are dished) but that will be alot of work. 212/218 cam is the go to cam for a 5.3 in a truck.
Old 06-21-2016, 01:00 PM
TECH Addict

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Some good reading:

https://ls1tech.com/forums/dynamomet...hp-22rwtq.html
Old 06-21-2016, 01:18 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 1,218 Likes on 782 Posts

above the curve power?? that's quite literally infinite. When people say below the curve, they mean a cumulative of all power between 0 and up to the line on a dyno graph. someone with a very "peaky" hp curve with peak at 500 could have less area under the curve than someone with a very flat graph that peaks at 400.