Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LQ4 Design and Build

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2017, 03:36 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LQ4 Design and Build

Sorry I know there are a few posts about this question, but I wanted specific advise on my build. I am new to rebuilding LS engines and would like some help designing my build.

I have a 2002 6.0 LQ4 out of a 2002 Chevy 2500 I received as a Christmas bonus from my boss. I plan on swapping the engine into my 94 Jeep YJ. The engine has 200,000 miles on it so I was planning on doing a build/rebuild. I don't need much added horsepower due to the lighter weight, especially because the tub is fiberglass, but I would like some recommendations with the build.

I was planning on getting it bored .030 over at a machine shop and running oversized pistons, getting the stock crank polished and fixed up at the machine shop, upgrading the cams/lifters/spring/rods, (not so much worried about horsepower with the cam, I want it more for the idle lobe) doing the crank, cam, and rod bearings, all rings and gaskets, and a high performance oil pump and timing chain.

One other thing I am debating on is if I should run the stock 317 heads and get them ported when I take the rest of the engine to the machine shop to get cleaned up, or if I should find a set of 243s. trying to keep my build on a budget I kind of just want to run the stock 317s unless there is a huge advantage to the 243s.

What do you guys think of this build? I know it will have enough power to move my little jeep any way I do it, but if I have the engine torn apart and I'm putting money into it I want to do it right the first time. Also I am using the stock 4L60E which is going to be rebuilt and upgraded along with either a Dana 20 Twin stick transfer case or the stock NP231 from the jeep (just depends on if I can find a 3/4 ton passenger side input front axle.

Thanks guys help is greatly appreciated!
Old 01-02-2017, 04:25 PM
FormerVendor