Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Free 5.3L LS

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2017, 04:38 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Free 5.3L LS

Ok, so first things first, a buddy of mine is giving me a free 5.3L LS out of a 2001ish truck. Apparently it was a good running motor just high mileage (about 150k) and came out of the truck due to a motor swap. Since it is new to me, I plan to do a rebuild anyway and my first question is, is it easier to buy a top end kit and be done with it or try to buy piece by piece? I am a beginner with motor builds but have been doing a lot of research. I have scowered the threads on here and corvetteforum, I have got a lot of good information from both. Secondly, is it easier to switch the car over for FI or build the 5.3 as a carb motor? I am sure I will have many many more questions as this goes forward but this seems to be a good start for now. My 81 Corvette runs good now and there's nothing pushing me to put this new motor in anytime soon, so I want to take my time, do it right and make it nice. Thanks for any advice you guys are able to provide. The car is not a DD, it is only driven a few times a month in the summertime and I am only looking for maybe 350-400hp at the wheels and has a TH350 trans for now, looking for a 5 or 6 speed or 200r4, but that's a long ways off.
Old 09-17-2017, 06:19 PM
Banned

Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts

imho
get 2x 5.3 engines, both stock. The second engine is either a spare longblock or for spare parts. The Iron 5.3 is great for boost but kind of heavy for just a regular naturally aspirated car @ 400 horsepower. You lose some power because of the extra weight, and the loss of 0.4L of displacement (vs an aluminum 5.7L) together they add up. I'd rather have an aluminum 5.7L @ 380horsepower than a 5.3 @ 400 horsepower if I was never planning to go beyond 400 (no boost or nitrous)