Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help me build!

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2018, 06:01 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help me build!

Hi! Im from Wisconsin first off. I just disassembled what im pretty sure is a gen3 lm7. I bought this engine as a cheap swap/build for my 6banger mustang which I plan on pairing with a t56. This will be my summer cruiser/ take her to the strip car.

Next for those who may have to feel like saying it... There are hundreds of threads, hundreds... Been searching for a months since I bought my lm7 and found im not very good at remembering or organizing online info that's why my post will exist... And in general am not 100% in what to buy.

For my build I am looking to push 500-600hp with the help of a turbo, probably hx55 for size availability and cheapness. What do you guys think?
First big question in which I have no solid answer for, will my stock crank hold up to hp or even pair with a t56?
I wanna replace most if not all internal parts. Bearings, connecting rods, pistons, rings, push rods, lifters, rocker arms, springs, etc. what brand do yall buy? Do you guys back up stock parts?
I'm reusing my 862 heads and probably stock truck intake since I have truck pulleys. Hoping everything clears 😅
Now y'all wanna kno my budget lol lets just say I wanna keep it low yet reliable but withought figuring the trans $2000ish
Old 01-24-2018, 10:16 PM
10 Second Club

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts

The budget isn’t going to work. To reliably make that power your gonna need forged rods and pistons. Stock crank is fine. Turbo kit and a cam swap should come close to 550-600 but the expense of injectors fuel system tuning not to mention the turbo set up its self is gonna be way more than 2k. We had a cam only LS1 vette with twins make a little over 600 on 11 psi
93 octane.
Old 01-25-2018, 12:22 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts