Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

ANOTHER Cam Selection Thread

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2018, 04:38 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ANOTHER Cam Selection Thread

Long time reader, first post. I’m new to LS engines, but not to engines in general.

I bought an LQ4 a little while back, fairly complete, but knowing from the previous owner that there was a knocking sound and no oil pressure upon initial fire-up in his truck. (Long story short: he bought this engine as a replacement for his original [blown up] engine, and this one had its own set of problems. He wound up getting yet another engine, and this one sat in his garage for a year, which is where I come in.)

I finally got around to tearing it down, and found the source of the knocking sound, and a probable source of the lack of oil pressure: the number 1 and 2 rod bearings were spun and wasted, and that rod journal is scored up pretty badly; one of the cam bearings spun as well, and there are metal shavings throughout the engine block, so it looks like it was run with no oil, or very little. The oil pump is clean inside, and shows little to no wear. I’m pretty sure the crank can be saved, but the cam is wasted. That’s the worst of it. This was a 90,000 mile engine.

The upside of it all is that the cylinder walls still look good, and likely could be cleaned up with a hone. Also, the heads, pistons, rockers, valves, lifters, and pushrods all appear to be in good shape. The crank spins freely. So crank grinding, rod resizing, new bearings, rings, hone, ARP stuff and gaskets, and I’m good.