Sponsored by:

Noob here with a head question.

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2019, 03:31 PM
Staging Lane

Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts

Default Noob here with a head question.

Hi all.
I am in the parts gathering stage of putting an LSA supercharger on my 03 Z06 (Don't start flaming me yet..). The LS6 has 49K on it, runs strong, was well maintained. I plan on keeping boost at 9-ish # and not touching the bottom end.
I have a BTR Stage 3 Blower cam, springs, etc., Trunion upgrade, Cathedral Port Adapters for the blower and a bunch of other top end, front end performance parts. Too many to list in the opening of this thread but all good stuff. My goal is +/- 600 WHP when done.

Here's my question to the Gen3 LS Guru's.

My son bought what he thought was P&P'd LS6 heads and was gonna use them on his LS1 Swapped 93 RX7. Turns out they are P&P'd 035 castings. From what I've read they are used more on boosted engines because of the larger Chamber. The 035's were done by a pro in the Detroit area and I'm sure they were done 'right'.

Would I be better off sending my stock 243's out for P&P work or use the already done 035's because I'm boosting? I could swap him my 243's and they would help the LS1 more than the 035's would - even in stock form. My BTR springs and all the other parts should work on either casting, right?

If anyone has an opinion on the difference between the two I would LOVE to have some discussion.
Thanks in advance.

Old 06-14-2019, 03:42 PM
ModSquad

Received 3,369 Likes on 2,085 Posts

Originally Posted by JumboShrimp
Hi all.
I am in the parts gathering stage of putting an LSA supercharger on my 03 Z06 (Don't start flaming me yet..). The LS6 has 49K on it, runs strong, was well maintained. I plan on keeping boost at 9-ish # and not touching the bottom end.