Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LM4 jet boat burning oil

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2019, 11:16 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LM4 jet boat burning oil

So I've been building my fishing/duck hunting rig for a little over 2 years now and just this past weekend splashed it for the first time. Im running a bone stock 2004 LM4 5.3 that I pulled out of a trailblazer at the junkyard, side swiped and no idea of the mileage. It had a decent mount of sludge but looked to be a running complete motor. I took and am using all of the stuff that came out of the trailblazer in terms of sensors, coils, intake etc. I did the backwoods valve job with some grinding compound, a rubber hose and a drill, had the heads decked to be flat, put new head gaskets and valve seals on it and threw the thing together. Its running 6.0 marine power wet exhaust manifolds, no water pump as it is supplied by the jet pump, and I turned the intake manifold backwards. Compression across all cylinders was and still to this day is 160 psi +/- 5 psi

Im using microsquirt, tuned it for idle in the driveway and splashed it in the water. Im idling around 12.9 AFR, and when its moving staying in the 11's, hard to read a lab top in a boat but I'm working on it. Few issues, it runs cool, I need to limit the pressure to the motor as WFO for a while it only reaches 135 degrees, idles at around 110. I've had in in the water for about two hours now and just before pulling it yesterday it started smoking, a lot.... Driver side cylinder bank, by the looks of the plug it appears to be cylinder 5, I have a decent amount of oil in the intake manifold as well. It smokes immediately after start up heavily, a little at idle, and bad under power.

Im thinking valve guides or a pcv issue? Compression is good and it didn't seem to lose power or make any noises.
Old 07-13-2019, 11:36 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 3,121 Likes on 2,434 Posts