Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

need advice on a cam!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2007, 05:48 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default need advice on a cam!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i need advice about a good middle range cam. i have a stock 2002 ls1 trans-am ws6 with 51,000 miles on it. i am planning to do cam first, then wheels and tires, and then start on more hardcore engine mods. i am dreaming about a twin turbo for my trans am (ws6). anyway i need advice about cam specs, and what would you guys recommend?

i dont want a little cam. i also dont want a real BIG cam. but i want something thats more on the high end of the middle range. i have a good understanding about suspension and car audio, and alot of other stuff. but honestly i really dont know much about engine specs. and i am brand new to the ls1.

so any advice would be greatly appreciated. just remember im new so please explain everything clearly.

thanks guys!
Old 01-15-2007, 05:59 PM
TECH Senior Member

You leave a lot of questions to be asked like the goal for the car once the cam is in? is it a daily driver? How high are you willing to spin the motor? Do you even have the supporting boltons yet?
Old 01-15-2007, 06:25 PM
Staging Lane

its daily driver! and probably gonna stay that way for awhile. my goal is a street car with some serious horsepower, like 700+ hp. what kind of bolt-ons would support a cam?
Old 01-15-2007, 08:45 PM
ЯєŧąяĐ Єl¡m¡иąŧøя ™

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Lol, I think you need to check a sticky or 2 before you jump into the ocean.

A safe Daily Driven 700rwhp+ car will cost you somewhere in the neighborhood of $20k just for engine modification and other odds and ends. You will not be able to do it very easily on your stock bottom end....As a matter of fact, I suggest that you don't. You would be better off going with a larger CID to obtain some sort of stomping ground for a turbo.