Sponsored by:

Broken Crank bolt removal

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2007, 02:34 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Broken Crank bolt removal

Removal of broken off harmonic balancer bolt in LS engines

I started reading the forum pages as a way to pass the dead time while over here in Iraq. Alarmingly, I’ve seen quite few folks who’ve had to deal with fasteners shearing off inside holes when attempting to remove them, specifically harmonic balancer bolts. Hopefully, this will help some people with getting back on the road.

I’ve been a custom gunmaker for the past 8 years. Prior to building rifles, I was a machinist working in the aerospace, nuclear, medical, and auto racing industries. Repairing and reconditioning threaded holes comes with this work quite often.

So, let’s get started.

The LS engines use a torque to yield type fastener for retaining the harmonic balancer. What is a torque to yield bolt? How is it different from other fasteners? This is taken directly from another site, http://www.boltscience.com/pages/faq.htm and it defines TTY fasteners:

Torque to yield is the method of tightening a fastener so that a high preload is achieved by tightening up the yield point of the fastener material. To do this consistently requires special equipment that monitors the tightening process. Basically, as the tightening is being completed the equipment monitors the torque verses angle of rotation of the fastener. When it deviates from a specified gradient by a certain amount the tool stops the tightening process. The deviation from a specified gradient indicates that the fastener material as yielded.
The torque to yield method is sometimes called yield controlled tightening or joint controlled tightening.