Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Questions about Head/Cam swap...?? (Patrick G, feel free to come on in)

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2007, 01:27 AM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Question Questions about Head/Cam swap...?? (Patrick G, feel free to come on in)

Ok guys bare with me, I am very new to internal work. I am getting ready to order all of my parts for my head/cam swap. Can I please get your recommendations? Here is what I am looking to buy, can you chime in with what brand/make/model# that you prefer. If you could give reasons why, that would be great also!

1. HEADS: Assembled ETP 215's....what cc? runner size?

2. CAM: Custom grind... I was thinking 228/232....what do you think?

3. SPRINGS: I believe the assembled ETP's come with upgraded springs...am I correct? What springs come with them?

4. ROCKERS: Yella Terra or Harland Sharp? Which is best? What model?

5. PUSHRODS: I have no idea what to look for...help?

6. OIL PUMP: Melling high performance pump...what model??

7. TIMING CHAIN: Double roller? What kind/make do you guys prefer?

8. LIFTERS: I have no idea on this...help?

9. UNDERDRIVE PULLEY(S): ASP underdrive pulley, and ASP alternator pulley....should the alternator pulley be underdrive or overdrive?? (I think I have the 2 backwards)

10. GASKETS: I was thinking the Cometic MLS gaskets...what size though? What other gaskets will I need during this process?

11. RETAINERS: I want titanium...do the assembled ETP's come with titanium, or do I have to buy them separately?

12. INJECTORS: I am pretty sure this would max out the stockers...so what size/brand should I upgrade to?

13. ROD BOLTS/MAIN STUDS: I was thinking about doing ARP, but I don't know what the difference is between "Main Studs" and "Rod Bolts" could someone please help me with this? Plus, if you could give me part #'s that'd be great!