Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Changed Bent Rods, Still Probs

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2008, 08:26 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Changed Bent Rods, Still Probs

Well, I pulled my rods and sure enough 3 were bent. I cleanded up all the rest of the rods replaced the 3 bent w/ 3 used stock ones from a buddy, oiled em up, torqued em down to 22 ft/lb, no more ticking but still hearing a thump,thump, thump when throttling it.
I am a noobie to the inside of these engines, I have triple checked the header bolts, seem pretty tight, not sure where to go from here.
It for sure on the passenger side towards the front of the engine, what should I look into next. I know theres tons of threads, but I'm just new to all this and looking for suggestions which way to go, I appreciate it.
Old 03-17-2008, 09:03 PM
On The Tree

Push rods or connecting rods?
How did they bend?
Old 03-18-2008, 12:20 AM
Restricted User

I'm guessing PR's. Change your oil/pull your plugs and have a look.
Old 03-18-2008, 08:07 AM
On The Tree

you could have bent a valve or two... I did this and bent about 5 pushrods. 2 valves were bent from the piston to valve contact. Did a mechanical overrev from a missed shift cause the bent pushrods?
Old 03-18-2008, 09:00 AM
TECH Resident

Originally Posted by greatwhite99
you could have bent a valve or two... I did this and bent about 5 pushrods. 2 valves were bent from the piston to valve contact. Did a mechanical overrev from a missed shift cause the bent pushrods?

Yep, I was at the track on my 4th pass and missed the 2-3 shift. There were 2 push rods on the passenger side, 1 on the driver that I bent. They were not badly bent, but just enough to make it tick.
But now I feel the damage is beyond this.
Are valves hard to change, where do I start?
Drain the oil, pull the plugs, pull the push push rods.... am I looking at putting the car up on blocks for a while while I do this in may garage.
Thanks guys,
Old 03-18-2008, 09:53 AM
On The Tree