Generation IV External Engine LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

5.3 identification help!?

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2017, 01:02 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5.3 identification help!?

Hey everyone im new to the ls swap! Game. I have supposedly a 5.3 out of a 2007 suburban 65k miles . It has the 799 aluminum heads. What im wanting to know is can i find the vin on the pcm? Also what 5.3 do i have? Lh6? Ly5? There are different styles right? Also if i have the AFM should I delete it? All are factors of which motor i have ! Thanks for the help
Attached Thumbnails 5.3 identification help!?-img_0350.jpg   5.3 identification help!?-img_0349.jpg   5.3 identification help!?-img_0363.jpg   5.3 identification help!?-img_0355.jpg   5.3 identification help!?-img_0352.jpg  

Last edited by Dakotaw; 06-25-2017 at 01:08 PM.
Old 06-25-2017, 05:05 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 3,021 Likes on 2,352 Posts

Cast iron or aluminum block?
Old 06-25-2017, 05:34 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by G Atsma
Cast iron or aluminum block?

Cast block
Old 06-25-2017, 07:10 PM
TECH Senior Member

You likely have an LY5, unless it is flex-fuel, then it is an LMG. It does have AFM (AKA DOD, or Displacement On Demand), and should not have VVT. It came in in 2010.
Old 06-25-2017, 07:18 PM
Teching In

You likely have an LY5, unless it is flex-fuel, then it is an LMG. It does have AFM (AKA DOD, or Displacement On Demand), and should not have VVT. It came in in 2010.

Okay thanks! So what do i have to look at to determine if it has flex fuel? And as well as afm? And should i definately delete the afm?
Old 06-25-2017, 07:24 PM
TECH Senior Member