Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

Bulletproof NA LS tune with 500-600hp

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2010, 01:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bulletproof NA LS tune with 500-600hp

Hi people. i am a newbie from sunny UK and trying to get my head around which gen 4 LS engine to go with for my kit car project.

The car in question will be an Ultima GTR which will be mainly a track weapon and occasional GT car so my focus is on low weight, bullet reliability, revability(7K rpm minimum), streetability, emissions compliance and bang for buck

If money was no object then i would go for the LS7 but my thinking is i can also hit NA 500-600HP with a drysumped forged LS2 or LS3 with the right specced parts like heads, cams/valvetrain and forged bottom end. I know the intake and exhaust are important too and take care of by a good system available from the Ultima factory which give very good results(eg >40HP gains when paired with the LS7 engines) so i should expect good gains with either LS2-3.

My idea is to go with the LS2 and on top of my head :
-ported stock heads or AFR 205
-Comp cams ? which
-Uprated valvetrain parts to enable high rpm? which
-Forged blueprinted bottom end
- Forged high CR pistons(we have 99 octane pump gas here)
-ARP fastenners
- Bigger injectors? size/which
-ARE dry sump system to name a few things that will be needed.

I would appreciate any recommendation to which is the best starting point eg LS2 or LS3 or other and a spec list of the best/major parts required to achieve my goals while being under LS7 money(a turnkey LS7 will set me back by $25K delivered in the UK ) I look to spend 10K less ideally.