Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

What's the ideal aluminum block, for max bore, and mild forced induction?

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2010, 02:57 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What's the ideal aluminum block, for max bore, and mild forced induction?

Hello, I am an LSx noob. My question is, which aluminum block will allow the biggest bore, with the most durability for forced induction? I'm talking an OEM pull-out, or crate engine, not an aftermarket block.

What kind of modifications, to an aluminum block, will result in a good safety factor? What is the spectrum of things that can be done?

Is there any weight difference, between the various all-aluminum engines, a small one perhaps?
Old 10-05-2010, 03:04 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You should talk to some of the builder/sponsors. From what I understand the ls3 would work the best for a boosted motor. What kind of power are you looking for? You really need to know the level of boost that you want and cubic inches then plan from there.
Old 10-05-2010, 03:21 PM
FormerVendor

Originally Posted by JBarron
Hello, I am an LSx noob. My question is, which aluminum block will allow the biggest bore, with the most durability for forced induction? I'm talking an OEM pull-out, or crate engine, not an aftermarket block.

What kind of modifications, to an aluminum block, will result in a good safety factor? What is the spectrum of things that can be done?

Is there any weight difference, between the various all-aluminum engines, a small one perhaps?
I'd say LSA/LS9 block would be the best for a factory pullout, but good luck finding one, block is very similar to LS3, LSA has I believe nodular iron main caps, piston oil squirters.

Aftermarket block RHS, best option.

Last edited by AES Racing; 10-05-2010 at 03:27 PM.
Old 10-05-2010, 03:24 PM
Staging Lane

Originally Posted by Orange Juice