Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

Heads for boost a low end torque?

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2015, 08:02 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Heads for boost a low end torque?

I'm new to fi and I don't know what heads will match my build.

I'm going to be using twin BG S467 turbos with a Holley High Ram intake manifold. 9:1 Compression ratio with 4" stroke. LSX 6-bolts per cylinder, standard deck block. Cam is going to be pretty mild made for low-mid rpm range with .600 lift at most (turbos and tuning should help me from mid to high rpm power).

I'm building a prerunner style truck, with a 3 speed auto, that will need a flat torque curve from 1500rpm to 6500rpm. Ramping up boost and fuel until about 1000hp+.

What LS7 style, 6-bolt per cylinder, heads would you guys recommend for the hp and torque curve I'm looking for?
Old 06-09-2015, 08:34 PM
Banned

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

WCCH Brodix castings with 267 runner or *All pro 267 cc castings..Cathedral is a TQ horse also TFS 235 would be good or AFR 230's
Old 06-09-2015, 10:02 PM
Teching In

I've heard that the cathedral isn't that good for boost at high rpm because of low volume, and I don't want a dog after 4000rpm. My sources aren't experts though, so I'll look around some more.

Those WCCH Brodix castings fully assembled look a little pricey. The Mast 285cc has good flow numbers and the intake port isn't huge either like some of the others, but still bigger than stock.

I'm also curious about the Brodix BR7 heads, the dyno numbers show an increase all the way across the rpm range, but not as big of a low end increase as I would like.

It seams like every aftermarket head is made for mid to high rpm power. No one thinks about the offroad guys needing the whole rpm range.
Old 06-10-2015, 08:31 AM
Banned

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Boy if you knew that much then why didn't you know this:
1st: buy heads bare with rough port runner: 700.00 each