Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

Bleeding the coolant system

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2017, 12:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bleeding the coolant system

So I'm pretty new to the whole car world and I'm trying to put coolant in my 96 Camaro SS Z28.

The ownder's manual (and everywhere on the internet) says to open the bleeder valves and put coolant in the radiator until a steady stream comes out of the bleed valves. When i try this, nothing comes out. The radiator gets completely filled and the valves help push more through the system but after some time, nothing else happens. The radiator stays topped off and the valves remain "dry". I know the valves themselves aren't clogged because coolant spurts out sometimes and if I squeeze some of the hoses, it comes out a bit.

I need to bleed my cooling system properly because I've been having coolant shooting out of the overflow cap for a while now and I think I narrowed it down to air in the lines.
Old 06-01-2017, 12:26 PM

And I have 2 bleeder valves
Old 06-01-2017, 03:53 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 3,038 Likes on 2,365 Posts

Which engine do you have?
Old 06-01-2017, 07:10 PM

Originally Posted by G Atsma
Which engine do you have?
I think it's an LS1. It's a Z28 but Idk the difference between the LS1, LS2, LS3...
Old 06-01-2017, 07:27 PM
Banned

Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts

When you say bleeder valves, I am curious what you mean. Can you post a picture(s)? I am new to the LSx and have not encountered any "bleeder" valve yet, so I am curious what they look like.

FWIW on my 5.3L (not the same engine, but like I said fwiw) to fill the system initially I vented the steam port lines (4-corner crossover) and used it like a siphon (applied a vacuum to the line, got the water flowing out of the heads and onto the ground through the hose) to drain from the top of the engine while filling from the radiator. This more or less suggests that the air is removed.