Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

LS3 port cu-away pic inside. is it better than a L92 port ??

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2007, 12:54 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default LS3 port cu-away pic inside. is it better than a L92 port ??

Also new cam specs..
Old 05-02-2007, 01:07 PM
7 Second Club

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

That port on the left looks better than the one on the right but I'm no expert. It could be the way its rotated in the pic.
Old 05-02-2007, 01:14 PM
10 Second Club

so which is which in that pic?
Old 05-02-2007, 01:19 PM
JPH
TECH Junkie

ls3 should be left, i take it.
Old 05-02-2007, 01:45 PM

Hey, c' mon LS1tech readers! Look more carefully!

That port on the left is an LS6 or 6.0L port. The one on the RIGHT is the LS3 port (if that's the LS3!).

Notice it doesn't the casting provision for the injector that the GenIII stuff has (left) and it also has a larger seat diameter.

The port floor looks dead flat (huh?), and the roof has a weird shape to it as well- it looks really straight. The runner is raised more than the Gen III stuff. Look at the distance from the port floor to the deck surface.

It looks like it could make more power to me. Looks funny, but I'd be willing to give it a shot. Maybe I just look at LSx heads too much now... grinding away on 'em all the time.

Ben T.
Old 05-02-2007, 01:56 PM

I swear, if the epoxy would stick I'd get some LS3 heads and put some seats in them for a 2.08" valve and try to use them on a LS1 motor. I just have a bad feeling the epoxy would come out of the bowls...

Ben T.
Old 05-02-2007, 03:27 PM
10 Second Club

Originally Posted by Studytime

Hey, c' mon LS1tech readers! Look more carefully!

That port on the left is an LS6 or 6.0L port. The one on the RIGHT is the LS3 port (if that's the LS3!).

Notice it doesn't the casting provision for the injector that the GenIII stuff has (left) and it also has a larger seat diameter.