LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Ideal exhaust setup for my 398LT1?

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2010 | 08:37 AM
10 Second Club

Default Ideal exhaust setup for my 398LT1?

I know...many exhaust threads, but why not start a new one right???

Currently running 1 3/4" LTs/ORY/into a stock WS6 catback with cutout and Hooker Aerochamber in place of stock muffler.

I like the sound the aerochamber makes. I like the cutout for the track. However, I really want true duals.

So...i've read for years that 1 single 3" outflows dual 2.5". I'm not an engineer so I don't really understand how 5" of total flow doesn't outflow a single 3" but its been said over and over.

I'm on 28's now so running a TD setup would be more doable w/ more ground clearance.

Any suggestions? I want to keep it legal w/ mufflers (not sure if bullets count as mufflers in true street drag classes).

Thanks ahead of time!
Old 03-10-2010 | 08:45 AM
TECH Regular

If you do a little math, you will see that a pair of 2.5" pipes do not equal 5".
Old 03-10-2010 | 09:09 AM
TECH Apprentice