LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Recommendations on Headers for my LT1 Daily Driver?

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2010 | 01:41 AM
Launching!

Default Recommendations on Headers for my LT1 Daily Driver?

I recently purchased a 97 SS, which sadly was a bit abused by its previous owners. I am a LT1 newbie, and have checked out the newbie thread a bit. But i figured i would ask you guys and see what you recommend. Which brands have worked for you, quality, and personal experience ect.

The car is all stock with 84k's on the clock. Its my daily driver, and im researching and saving $$ for my mods and upgrades.

The current exhaust: stock, cut off past the cat. (way loud and rattles the entire interior)

If im going to save the money for new exhaust, i might aswell save for the good stuff and upgrade it from the headers on back.
Old 04-08-2010 | 01:46 AM
TECH Junkie

Ive never bought exhaust parts new, I see no point since those parts aren't under any stress other then heat and if they're not cracked or damaged, they are good as new for hundreds less.

But if you insist on buying the "best" Id go with Kooks headers, ORY mated to a GMMG with CME would be it...Just what I think.
Old 04-08-2010 | 02:00 AM
TECH Fanatic

Well what he said above, Kooks and GMMG would be nice but you are talking about the nicest headers and one of the best exhaust's there are. Kooks LT headers are 1k-1100. GMMG is 800 (not sure, someone help?).

You could go with pacesettter LT's that are coated and should last 3-5yrs down in FL. They run 450ish for the set, with gaskets and bolts. 600ish is with the y pipe. Grab those and either SLP, Hooker, Magnaflow catback for 350 and you should come in around 1k for parts.