LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

cam package help for 96 impala

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2011, 12:24 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default cam package help for 96 impala

I have a 96 impala completely stock and im tired of having the image of a fast car but nothing under the hood to back it up. 260 hp is alright but it seems to not be enough. Im new to discussing cam packages, engine bore size, etc. I was wondering what cam/heads would be best for my imp as far as rwhp on a car that weight.
Old 09-23-2011, 12:57 AM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Holy double thread Batman!

Anyways, no one can really help you until we know what kind of build you are after on the car. Is a a daily driver? A show car? A drag car? A weekend warrior? If you just want to get h/c package for a daily driven car, lpe makes some good stuff. Then of course you have the LT4 Hotcam which is always good for daily driven lt1s. Give us some more info on what you want to do with it. If its just a dd car and your looking for more streetable power, I would just get a stall (assuming its automatic) and a lower rear end gear. Then some bolt ons would really wake her up. I'm not really sure if I would go for a 373 or a 411 rear gear in a car that heavy. Maybe a 342. I dont know a whole shitload about impalas. But bolt ons and gears are always a good idea.
Old 09-23-2011, 06:54 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Read all of this first:
http://www.impalassforum.com/vBullet...d.php?t=228114

and then come back and tell us what you want to do with the car.

I had mine going 12.3's with the stock cam, so don't think by any means that a cam is necessary to make it a fairly quick car.
Old 09-23-2011, 07:36 AM
11 Second Club

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts