LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Trunk mounted battery

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2015, 12:42 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Trunk mounted battery

Ok so I got the optima red top all mounted in the trunk. I have it grounded to the body of the car. I went to phoenix welding supply and got 13 ft of 1 aught welding cable and now I'm not sure what it is supposed to connect to after the positive on the battery. I'm not good with reading wiring diagrams so I'm wondering for those that mounted the battery in the trunk, how did you wire it up? And did you run the cable inside or outside the car? And pics of the set up would be great
Old 02-01-2015, 08:02 AM
That's MISTER MODERATOR

Received 50 Likes on 41 Posts

The positive battery cable goes to the big stud on the starter. How you get it there is your choice, inside or outside.

Curious-where on the body did you ground the battery negative? Are you planning a heavy body to engine block jumper in the engine bay?
Old 02-01-2015, 08:32 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by am_muscl
Ok so I got the optima red top all mounted in the trunk. I have it grounded to the body of the car. I went to phoenix welding supply and got 13 ft of 1 aught welding cable and now I'm not sure what it is supposed to connect to after the positive on the battery. I'm not good with reading wiring diagrams so I'm wondering for those that mounted the battery in the trunk, how did you wire it up? And did you run the cable inside or outside the car? And pics of the set up would be great