LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

LT1 oil leak problem

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2015, 03:46 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LT1 oil leak problem

Hello all, so I've got a 1995 T/A with 67k and a serious puddle under the back side of the motor, about 10inch in diameter every time I park in my garage. The car only starts to leak when running and drips off of the oil pan and bell housing. It has been getting steadily worse and I cant for the life of me solve the problem.
In the past few months I've replaced the intake manifold seals, valve cover gaskets, and the rear main seal. Still the puddle is not getting any smaller. The only other possible source that I can think of causing a leak this size would be the oil pan gasket, which leads me to my question. Is it normal for an oil pan gasket to leak when the car is running and not while parked? I have no experience with this but i've thought that if there were a break in the pan gasket it would leak even while sitting.
I would love any opinions weather they be related to the pan gasket or another possible source.
Old 03-10-2015, 04:01 PM
TECH Regular

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

My front main seal leaked and as your driving down the road it will blow oil back everywhere else. Could be that. OR also check your trans pan bolts and see if any are missing because when I first purchased my car it had the same puddle you are describing, it had 3 loose trans pan bolts and one missing, after fixing that and replacing the front main seal, it was gone after a few days of driving.
Old 03-10-2015, 04:04 PM
TECH Addict

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

Have you checked the oil pressure sensor?
Old 03-10-2015, 05:56 PM

Thanks for the quick replies! I checked the oil pressure sensor when I had the intake manifold off and it was fine, no leaks. The front of the motor is surprisingly dry so I don't think the front main has started leaking yet, and i'd check the trans pan but its a t56.