What is a 355? - LS1TECH

LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

What is a 355?

Old 04-19-2017, 03:50 AM   #1
Teching In

Default What is a 355?

As the title says, what is a 355 and what exactly do you need in order to build it? I've been searching but haven't found a definitive answer on any forum, and I can only find 383 stroker kits on eBay.

Perhaps someone could take the time and explain this to me in layman's terms?

I bought my dream car - my Formula LT1 - because I wanted something to tinker with and spend some time on, and after countless hours (years) of browsing I think I have finally found what I would like to do with it, and that is to build a 355! I'm not talking about starting this build today, but somewhere down the line I would like to do it. For now I would just like to know what a 355 is and what you need for it. All info is appreciated!

I have zero experience of any kind of engine work and I haven't done anything like this before (well, I did Pacesetter LT's last year lol), but I bought this car with the intent of learning. My car is my hobby and I have been a car guy for as long as I can remember. Cars in general, and f-body's in particular is my life!

Looking forward to answers!

/E

Last edited by ErikFormula; 04-19-2017 at 03:55 AM.
ErikFormula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 04:18 AM   #2
TECH Addict

The bore and stroke on a stock lt1 is 4.000" x 3.480"

This means the diameter of the cylinder bore is 4.00" and the amount the piston travels up and down the cylinder is 3.480". A 355 is when you remove 0.030" from the cylinder walls for a rebuild but still retain the stock length of stroke. A 383 is when you remove the 0.030" from the cylinder walls but also change the crank to one that has a stroke of 3.750".

the reason why you don't see 355 kits really is because it just requires a larger diameter piston where as a 383 requires different pistons, rods, and crank.
myltwon is offline   Reply With Quote