LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Intake Manifold oil leak

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2007, 03:05 AM
TECH Addict

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Intake Manifold oil leak

Alright guys I searched for a write up or some pics on fixing this oil leak but only found a bunch of people giving opinions on what gasket maker to use. I'm planning on trying to fix this on Wednesday and Thursday since I got no class and I'm off work these 2 days. It will give me plenty of time. I really want pics or a good write up on it since I've never done it before. I've actually never done anything like this before but I'm sure I can do it with everyone giving me direction and tips.

Basically what I know is that there are 6 bolts holding it down on each side (don't know exactly where but I'll find them) and that I need to unplug sensors and vacuum lines. Also I just take off the entire fuel rail with the manifold correct? How exactly is this done? What did you use to align the manifold to go on straight? I heard to use pencils but I don't want wood or anything inside my motor. Any help you can give me will help alot since I've never done it. Do I need any special tools for this or will regular hand tools be fine? Like I said a detailed write up with pics would be the best.

Last edited by porksoda; 03-25-2007 at 03:19 AM.
Old 03-25-2007, 09:03 AM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

There are 2 fuel lines, you will need a fuel line disconnect tool. I bought mine at autozone for @ $5. Here is a link to a picture of one http://images.search.yahoo.com/searc...2e5ce&ei=UTF-8 You will need to use both sides of that tool, as the fuel lines are different sizes.
There are 12 bolts, IIRC they are 13mm and I used a short extension on 10 of them. The first 2 on the drivers side, I had to use a wrench.
Go to shbox.com and in the cam removal you will get a editorial on how to get the manifold off.