LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Running Rough / Reduced Power / Poor Mileage / NO DTC CODES

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2007, 09:29 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Running Rough / Reduced Power / Poor Mileage / NO DTC CODES

OK, here are the specifics:

This is what my car is doing; about 6 weeks ago my LT1 / M6 Firebird started to run rough. I'm an engineer who was with GM back when the Tech 2 was being developed (I was a transmission calibration engineer) and, to me, the old LT1 seemed like it was running in open loop or something along those lines. Poor gas mileage, slightly rougher idle than normal (FYI, it has an LT4 Hot Cam kit) and reduced power thru the entire RPM range. It never broke up at the top end, but it just didn't feel 'strong'. Driving along at low RPMs in sixth gear was now painful too; it would shudder and shake in 6th below 2k - something was not right. No codes though... I was perplexed.

I didn't have access to a real scan tool, so I started guessing at would could be the issue; I replaced all 4 of the O2 sensors and the Engine Coolant Temp (ECT) sensor, the one in the water pump, not the one in the radiator (for the gauge) - No change.

I purchased some OBD II S/W and a ELM 327 H/W interface (over the net) but before I rec'd it, I got a job in NC and had to leave my family in Detroit. My wife doesn't drive a stick, so I couldn't leave this car for her. With great trepidation, I headed off for NC in the bird.

The vehicle drove, just not very well, like 85% or so. I hoped the 600 mile trip would finally set a hard code so I could drop by Autozone and have them tell me "You've got a <insert your favorite driveability problem here> code". I never got any DTCs. (drat!)