LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

LT1 durability and problems

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2007, 05:41 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LT1 durability and problems

im going to look at a few lt1 cars this weekend and i have no experience with them at all. as you could expect most of them are over or close to the 100K mile mark. i need to know what are some problem areas other than the opti-spark i should check out. also, the latest edition of Chevy High Performance says that the LT1 engine is very durable cosidering that its basically a spin off the traditional small block chevy. are you lt1 guys happy with their reliability or am i going to be fixing more than going fast?
Old 11-22-2007, 06:00 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

they say the lt1 can last easily to 200k if you take care of it. most people that have lot of issues do not maintain their car or know what to look out for. the opti-spark is a problem, but if you're going to get an lt1 car, try to get a 95-97 (i think), with the vented opti spark, they seem to have alot of less issues then the non-vented kind. another problem would be the low ride height and the air filter. aftermarket air filter set ups put the filter really close to the ground, so if you have to avoid large puddles, or if possible, hit them with the passenger side of the car because the air filter isnt on that side. but if you do hit them, and the air filter sucks water into the motor, it'll hydrolock and you need another motor.

outside of all that. 6-speeds are fun daily drivers and get pretty good highway mileage (i get around 28 avg on the highway) and autos also make great daily drivers and are great at the track.

and the lt1 has a pretty decent aftermarket for whatever you're looking for.

/end rant.
Old 11-22-2007, 06:27 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 196 Likes on 138 Posts

^Well put!
Old 11-22-2007, 06:33 PM
10 Second Club

Received 26 Likes on 17 Posts