LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Cam question

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2008, 11:53 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Cam question

well i am highly thinking about rebuilding my motor this year (with some help... cuz im not that good with this stuff yet), and i would like to add a few upgrades to the car, but still keep it "driveable" and reliable... and i dont want to go like totally crazy on this, but i would just like some mild upgrades
so i was just wondering, since i have an auto... what would be some options on cams to get with keeping the stock torque converter? also, if there are any other small upgrades that i could go with in this process, what other kinds of upgrades would be good to go with?
thanks
also, i plan on keeping the heads and intake and all that good stuff stock, but im basically just wanting to do it to freshen up the motor, get some of the leaks taken care of, and get it running good

also, the only plans id really have besides maybe a really mild cam would be long tubes and a y pipe to fit it, maybe a set of roller rockers or something like that, and basically just anything recommended to me because i am new at tearing down a motor, but def. want to learn about it

Last edited by squeals99; 01-29-2008 at 12:14 AM.
Old 01-29-2008, 12:30 AM
11 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

My crane 227 cam ran fine with the stock converter. I cut a 1.86 60' dead hooking with it fwiw. You'll obviously be giving up something by running the stock converter but it can be done as long as you pick the right cam.
Here's a couple videos of it. The tranny was slipping at the drag strip and you can hear it tag the limiter before it shifted.
Click here to see Video

Last edited by speed_demon24; 01-29-2008 at 12:40 AM.
Old 01-29-2008, 12:35 AM
TECH Enthusiast