LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

LT1 opti troubleshooting

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2008, 06:32 PM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LT1 opti troubleshooting

alright this may be a "novice" advanced question, but I am absolutely stumped, ive been working on my LT1 for a few months now since it has made its first attempt at "rebirth" but I need advice on how to troubleshoot on determining wether the opti went bad or not. Ive replaced plugs, wires, and my car runs pig rich which doesnt help, but I am still worried that when i took off my old plug wires from the opti, i saw a powder buildup come off from inside the opti plug hole, which makes me think its all corroded inside, but Im looking for anyone's input on some good ol' LT1 opti help
Old 03-15-2008, 08:17 PM
FormerVendor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

The best thing to do if you are in doubt is pull the cap and inspect the inside of the cap and rotor. The rotors are notorious for actually coming apart. However, if the car is running rich, I would look at other possibilities first such as vaccuum leaks or exhaust leaks which could cause the computer to sense a lean condition. The opti shouldn't be the problem unless the car has a miss or other driveability issues.

Thanks,
Shane
Old 03-17-2008, 08:53 AM
11 Second Club

Idle is choppier than normal and there is a definite miss under load. Checked all of my plug wires, there is no sign of damage to them, im checking my plugs again tonight to make sure they are not fouled again, but im almost positive thats not the case. when i rev the motor up the exhaust pops and misses like ive never heard before. im getting sick and tired of wrenching on this piece of ****, i just want to drive it
Old 03-17-2008, 01:46 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

check your fuel pressure. any codes? did you put on different injectors?
Old 03-18-2008, 01:34 PM
11 Second Club