LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

torque converter question

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2008, 02:30 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default torque converter question

I'm new to torque conerters and I was just wondering if anyone could explain to me how they work and how they are when driving...just trying to understand how to use them when I get one put in my car, thanks in advance guys!
Old 09-27-2008, 04:03 PM
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Torque_converter
Old 09-27-2008, 04:45 PM
11 Second Club

LOL!^^^ It keeps you in a better torque range when you jump on the gas on the street or from a dead stop in common terms.
Old 09-27-2008, 05:19 PM
TECH Addict

IF you get a good one, the car will feel mostly stock as far as accelerating slowly. It will grab WELL before the stall rating. If you brake torque it up it also will not go up to the stall rating. The only time it goes up there is when you mash it.

My car drives perfectly normal in normal driving. When I mash the gas however, it is incredible. It flashes up to 3200 and I TAKE OFF.

I had a cheaper converter before this one and it was MUCH looser in normal driving. But when I got on it, it too pulled VERY hard. It's night and day in performance driving.

The better quality converter you get, the better normal driving will be.

One of the cooler things I've noticed is when you give it some extra gas low in the rpm range the rpms jump up and you feel the acceleration but the RPMs stay where they jumped up to until the tranny catches up to the engine speed.

Only bad thing, is the car still feels really slow from a roll.

If you have any specific questions, spit them out.
Old 09-27-2008, 06:05 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Like if I'm racing at the 1/4 mile track can I sit on the line and have my brake held down and get the rpms up to say 3200 if I have a 3200 stall and then when I let off the brake will it then launch better than without one?