LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

debating boost

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2008, 11:47 PM
12 Second Club

Received 22 Likes on 14 Posts

Default debating boost

One of my best friends has a 99 GT with a built motor and Novi 2k. He's making in the 500s...his car is awesome. Truely a beast car. Granted I've only had the car together for a little while, and I built it to be N/A, but being around boosted cars has given me the itch.

Now, I have all supporting mods. I have a CC503 cam and 11.3:1 compression. I know that boosted motors like low compression as opposed to high. I'm completely new to the game here. I'd like to run a centrifugal S/C. A good friend of mine, Alvin, used to run a T-trim and he made 500s as well. Granted I believe he had a custom cam and some head work.

What would I need to get off the ground and prepare my motor to run a S/C somewhat efficiently. Basically this thread is about knowledge, to let me know if I truely can boost the motor I have without going back into it, which is what i really DON'T want to do. If so, then I'll put this idea on the shelf with many others...haha.
Old 10-08-2008, 12:46 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I will post what I posted on LTxtech.com here for you.

If your engine is not forged, then I would really stay away from boosting. Your going to want to boost it alot (higher boost opposed to lower) because lets be honest, you wont want to stay low boost for long. With a CR that high you can run into trouble with even moderate boost. Sure theres a safe way to do it with any setup, but if your going to be boosting it dont you want it setup perfectly for that?

Plus if it does get taken too far and something pops, all that H/C work you did could be at risk. It most likely will survive, but you never know. Its really up to you, but I dont think I would knowing I had all that $$ into it and its not really prepared for boost...
Old 10-08-2008, 08:48 PM
TECH Fanatic