Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

How to make T56 hold up in high HP cars.

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2008, 02:42 PM
9 Second Club

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Default How to make T56 hold up in high HP cars.

I feel the biggest problem running a T56 in high hp cars is the lack on lubrication on the head set gear and front gear on the counter shaft. After tearing up 2 G-Force gears I studied the gears closely and discovered that the gears were messed up because of lack of lubrication. Under hard acceleration where does the fluid go?....yes to the rear of the tranny, leaving the head set gear dry and that gear is supplying load through the counter shaft in every gear except 4th gear.

I decided that I wanted to rig up a pump so that I was always spraying fluid on the head set gear. I looked around and found a 12 volt electric gear pump and so far so good. I just got finished taking my tranny apart to inspect it and the head set gear and front counter shaft gear still look brand new.

Name:  transpump1.jpg
Views: 4198
Size:  102.5 KB

Name:  transpump3.jpg
Views: 3425
Size:  119.7 KB
Old 12-26-2008, 03:07 PM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

In a situation like yours where the car is probably face plated and a pure race car , I would play with fluids instead of worrying about spraying it on the gears like you have done .

I would think a full synthetic race fluid like the stuff Synergen offers would cling to the gears for a long enough period until the car came down and the fluid leveled off .
Old 12-26-2008, 03:15 PM
8 Second 6 Speed Director

Location: windsor, ont. canada - Home of the fastest LT1 6spd.
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by speedracer5532