Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Ram Powergrip problems need advice Im a newbie

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2012 | 03:07 PM
On The Tree

Default Ram Powergrip problems need advice Im a newbie

Installed a RAM powergrip clutch kit with the new engine. Ever since then reverse has been a pain. I have had to turn off the car put it into reverse then turn the car on and back out of the parking spot. Here are all the symptoms.

1. Will not go into reverse or into first unless car is off and the key is turned to the on position.
2. When starting in either 1st or 2nd the car barely comes to life and jerks forward.
3. shifting is really rough, even with my MGW shifter.

Tech I took it to thinks it was not installed correctly, and thinks I need a master slave cylinder. I called Texas Speed and they say with that clutch I do not need a slave. So what are my options? Is the clutch now destroyed? Would it be better to just buy another clutch that does not need a slave when installed rather then putting a clutch back on thats been taking a beating. It has been this way since last night. Before that it would only not go into reverse so was not a MAJOR issue until last night.

So option 1 buy new clutch kit that does not need a slave and have it installed correctly, or buy the slave and hope the clutch is not dead.
Also should I talk to the mechanic about paying for damages, the clutch has maybe 2k miles on it, and its only in this condition because of their install.
Old 09-28-2012 | 03:24 PM
On The Tree

I also have a budget of about 4-500$ to get it bought and installed. Only a bit more if it really makes sense and will make the difference down the road. For example an extra 100$ taking it from a decent set up to a very reliable one.
Old 09-28-2012 | 03:40 PM
FormerVendor