Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Centerforce Clutch Issues

Old 12-22-2013, 11:15 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Centerforce Clutch Issues

So after going through 3 clutches in 4 miles after full rebuild of literally everything on the car first one cracked, bought a new one pivot ring was out didn't work had centerforce build a new one and same thing happened again pivot ring was out, finally went through jegs and got a good one (never will I ever buy another centerforce clutch). So finally after getting everything back together (have to pull the motor to pull trans) went for a shakedown run made it about a mile, went to Rev match down shift to second at about 30 just to go through the gears with the trans being fresh. Then came the issues, after the Rev match clutch would not fully disengage managed to get home without using the clutch and just shifting at right rpms I have a 3/4 wilwood master and brand new stock slave cylinder. I have .975 inches of travel with the slave and from what I can see if pulls open on the throw outbearing and looks like the clutch should disengage. When started with the brakes applied the clutch grabs does disengage but still enough grab to kill the motor when pedal if fully depressed. Didn't hear any pops bangs or vibrations when this happened. Trans is out of a 1994 Trans Am using fidanza lightweight conversion flywheel and centerforce DFX cluch. Trans is mated to a Gen 1 SBC and setup is in a Datsun 280z any help would be appreciated thanks a lot in advance!
Old 12-23-2013, 12:52 AM
TECH Veteran

Received 87 Likes on 78 Posts

did you TQ the PP bolts to 22 ft lbs?

if to tight clutch won't disengage.

I also run the Wilwood McLeod) MC (13/64) bore and stock slave. I could not get all the air out of the MC in it's "installed" position (angle) so bench bleed it and then bench bleed slave then bleed assembled hydraulics.