Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Clutch slippage, clutch or MC issue?

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2017, 07:34 PM
On The Tree

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Clutch slippage, clutch or MC issue?

I am completely new to the T56 so please be patient here. I recently bought a 2000 SS, T56, 44k original miles with full bolt ons. The car came with a dyno sheet that reads 375rwhp. I am running 28 inch tires and 4.11 gears. I swapped the stock rear end with a Moser 9'" and like any responsible performance enthusiast, I tested it by dumping the clutch at about 5k rpms . The clutch slipped really bad so I let off but still smell the burnt clutch. Now before this, I noticed the pedal was doing the typical "stuck half way" under load. The car also felt great while shifting, meaning it jumped forward when shifted hard so other than the pedal issue, the clutch felt really good. I am trying to figure out if the slippage is the result of the MC/hydrulics issue before I go ordering a whole new clutch system. I know the MC is stock, not sure what clutch is in there. After my failed attempt, I let it cool down and went for a ride and everything worked fine under normal driving so I assume the clutch is not totally gone. Any ideas or advice will be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by Basco; 11-19-2017 at 08:42 PM.
Old 11-19-2017, 09:52 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

sounds like the disc may be intermittently hanging up on the splines.
Old 11-19-2017, 09:57 PM
On The Tree

Originally Posted by GIZZ
sounds like the disc may be intermittently hanging up on the splines.
I've been doing some reading and I think I want replace the master cylinder with a Tick Performance unit but I am not 100% sure that alone will solve it. I guess that's a start.
Old 11-20-2017, 10:18 PM
On The Tree

Ended up ordering a full swap kit with a Monster clutch level 3 from Tick Performance. That should take care of my issues!
Old 11-27-2017, 01:25 AM