Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Tick M/C pros needed

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2020, 06:54 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 19 Likes on 13 Posts

Default Tick M/C pros needed

**before you say SEARCH BUTTON** ive been searching for the past 2 weeks on here and multiple different forums

alright guys tryin to finish up my swap. turbo 5.3l t56 in a 90 camaro but having an issue with the clutch engagement. car is up on jackstands on all four corners. this is my first time using a fancy boi adjustable master cylinder. usually i use oem ones with no issues but decided to go fancy. my previous swap was pretty much a copy and past of this build but with a stock style master and never had any issues.

as of now what it has:

freshly rebuilt 0 miles t56
brand new spec stage 3+ clutch
brand new slave
brand new Tick Master cylinder
AN lines with speed bleeder
4th gen pedals

i have bled it multiple times all the different ways and there is absolutely no air bubbles in the line that i can see.
Has a good stiff pedal feel
Tried adjusting the master cylinder rod starting with the pedal all the way down and slowly bringing it up like ive been reading.
once in a while itll go into gear. it really does not like to go in gear with my foot on the brake. i did not want to force it into gear either.
ive read that you can bend the forks on the clutch itself but i pulled the trans off and the checked the clutch and it looked exactly like when i installed it.
all tested while car is running.

im kinda at a loss of whats goin on. if anyone can give some helpful advice i would greatly appreciate it.

Last edited by Swapper; 09-27-2020 at 07:08 PM.
Old 09-28-2020, 06:31 AM
Save the manuals!

Received 349 Likes on 319 Posts

How did your shimming measurements come out? If the pedal is all the way up and the clutch is still sticking, you probably need a shim to compensate for the aftermarket clutch.