Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Pro 5.0 w/ Lou's Short Stick - My experience

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2004, 07:36 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pro 5.0 w/ Lou's Short Stick - My experience

Purpose:
I am writing this thread for people who are interested in the Pro 5.0 shift tower and the Lou's Short Stick. This chronicles my experience with the stock shifter, the installation of the Pro 5.0 Shifter, the installation of the LSS, and the differences.

Enjoy.

Disclaimer:
I am not a professional. This is merely an explanation of my experience installing these parts. I do know a thing or two about cars, but I wouldn't say I know it all. If something does not make sense, it may just be me.

Installation:
The instructions that come with the Pro 5.0 basically sum up how to install the tower. Take a peak at installuniversity.com, they give photographic instructions on how to install a new shift tower.

The installation of the stick is pretty easy and/or takes common sense. Use medium strength locktight for the bolts that hold on the shift stick (blue color I believe).

I am not going to do a step by step installation guide, as you can find that at www.installuniversity.com, they would do a much better job than I. Make sure to read this install guide before attempting to install the shift tower. You will make things ten times easier.

The installation of both is pretty easy, up until you have to remove the old shift tower from the tranny. It has gasket sealant that creates sort of a bond to the tranny, so you will need a crowbar, or a large carpenters nail remover tool. From the drivers side, I simply hooked the hammer like edge on the side, and yanked straight up. After a few good pulls, it came out.

DO NOT use a screwdriver and try and lever it up using the thin sheet metal from the sides. This stuff bends with a slight breeze (sarcasm), so becareful. Just use your strength.